About VAPR Federal Credit Union

Low cost services since 1950  

VAPR FEDERAL CREDIT UNION is a non-profit credit union established in 1950 and created to provide members low-cost financial services. We are governed by a voluntary Board of Directors, elected by and for our members. To be a member of the Credit Union is a privilege granted only to employees of our group of associates and to relatives of our current members.

All of the earnings of the Credit Union are returned to the members in the form of dividends and low-cost loans. We strive to satisfy our members' needs, providing new services and products that meet their expectations, thus becoming their main financial institution.


Our Vision

To be the first choice in financial services for our members and their families as a leader in the cooperative sector, educating and offering them services of excellence so they can build a secure financial future.

Our Mission

Provide financial services of excellence through personal attention, fomenting citizens who, by accomplishing financial wellbeing, contribute to the socio-economic development of PR and model the virtues of cooperativism for the world.


Board of Directors

The Board of Directors has the responsibility to monitor the operations of the Credit Union and set the goals that both management and the administration would like to attain. The Board is comprised of voluntaries elected by the members of the Credit Union during the annual meeting. The Board is also responsible for designating the Supervisory Committee.



President Lic. Katherine E. Ruiz Díaz
Vice-president Mr. Fernando A. Vélez Garrett
Treasury Mr. Eduardo D. Ortega
Secretary Ms. Olga I Barreto Castro
Director Dr. Nilsa S. Piñeiro
Director Lic. Gabriel A. Olivera Magraner
Director Dr. Charles Juarbe Santos 
Director Mrs. Vilmarie Noriega Colón 
Director Mr. Roberto Rivera Ponce 
Director Mr. Pedro J. Toro Cancio 
Director Mr. Humberto M. Monserrate